Bachelor en Cinéma

Shooting of the film Tempête Silencieuse by Anaïs Moog (2019)

Over three years’ students discover the diversity of film writing, between documentary, fiction and series The programme promotes formal risk-taking and encourages the exploration of areas of hybridisation between genres, while emphasising films in tune with today’s world. Students learn to master the techniques of filming, sound recording, editing and post-production. In addition, they cultivate their vision, critical thinking and ability to express themselves through theory courses.

The first year includes sound and image, archive and lighting practices (outdoor and in the studio). The workshop courses introduce students to film creation with the help of internationally renowned directors and technicians.

In the second year, students choose between the Film Directing or Editing majors. The sophomore year enables students to deepen their technical knowledge and complete two films: one is a fiction film about local places, the other is a “Grand Atelier” project during which the students get to explore a new land or country in the company of a renowned local filmmaker.

The third year is dedicated to the realization of the graduation project, which includes a film and theory essay. Collaboration between students from both majors continues through the creation of film crews and editing and post-production teams. At the same time, students prepare a portfolio of their work in order get ready for their professional integration.

Direction

See study plan

Students who choose the Film Directing major in the second year deepen their technical knowledge (handling complex cameras and multi-channel sound recording) while learning to master the entire creative process. Together with their colleagues in the Editing major, they make two main films: one fiction and one documentary. In the third year, students concentrate on their gradua tion film and most of the teaching that takes place in the form of personalized tutoring and thematic seminars revolves around their project. The programme also includes courses on production, distribution, selection and festivals.

Shooting of the film Beneath The Shell by Mégane Brulhart (2020)

Editing

See study plan

From the second year, students who choose the Editing major assemble and disassemble films in order to master professional software (Avid Pro Tools). Students practice by editing the main films of their colleagues in the Film Directing major and deal in particular with the challenges of sound editing. In the third year, students consider editing as a creative act in its own right. They deepen their knowledge by exploring different narratives and practicing a wider variety of editing techniques. Moreover, students have the opportunity to familiarise themselves with special effects and graphic design software. During their graduation project, each student works in a team with a student from the Film Directing major to demonstrate their ability to complete the work through editing.

Shooting of the film Supreme by Youssef Youssef (2020)

From the second year, students who opt for the Sound major benefit from advanced sound recording training (microphones, recorders, booms, critical listening), while working on conceptual workshops (constructions, layered soundscapes, interactions between direct sound/ambience/music) and developing their knowledge of professional software (Pro Tools). In their third year, the students consider sound as a real tool for reflection and creation. Moreover, in order to develop a practical knowledge of sound, an internship in a professional environment (on a film set or on television) or a personal project are an integral part of the course. During the graduation project, students in the Sound major work on their colleagues’ films in the Directing major in collaboration with those in the Editing major, in order to define the method and sound strategy specific to the film, carry out the sound recording during the shooting, collaborate on the sound editing and carry out the mix.

Shooting of the film Imfura by Samuel Ishimwe (2017)

Team

Dean
  • Nicolas Wadimoff
Deputy dean
  • Delphine Jeanneret
Teaching staff
  • Clara Alloing
  • Bertrand Bacqué
  • Basil Da Cunha
  • Maryam Goormaghtigh
  • Blaise Harrison
  • Danielle Lessovitz
  • Elena Lopez Riera
  • Marie Losier
  • Daniel Schweizer
  • Olivier Zuchuat
Coordination and communication

Aurélien Haslebacher

Assistants
  • Sarah Imsand
  • Alice Riva
  • Julie Sando
Technical and post-production
  • Lorin Wüscher
  • Mathis Damour
Material store

Cathy Lopez

Lecturers

Kamal Aljafari, Raed Andoni, Claire Atherton, Marine Atlan, Antoine Barraud, Yaël Bitton, Iris Brey, Patric Chiha, Philippe Ciompi, Arnaud Dezoteux, Christine Dory, Farah Clémentine Dramani Issifiou, Hassen Ferahni, Alain Gomis, Elie Grappe, Christine Hoffet, Carlos Ibañez-Diaz, Philippe Lacôte, Oliver Laxe, Raphaël Lefèvre, Colin Levêque, Mariano Llinas, Elina Löwensohn, Eleonore Mallo, Bertrand Mandico, Emmanuel Marre, Claire Mathon, Elene Naveriani, Catherine Paillet, Caroline Poggi, Isabelle Proust, Carlos Reygadas, Antoine Russbach, Patrick Tresch, Ael Dallier Vega, Jonathan Vinel, François Wolf, Rui Xavier

Bachelor en Cinéma

Tournage du film Tempête Silencieuse de Anaïs Moog (2019)

Durant trois ans, les étudiant·e·x·s découvrent la diversité des écritures cinématographiques, entre documentaire, fiction et série. Le programme favorise la prise de risque formelle et encourage l’exploration des zones d’hybridations entre les genres, tout en mettant l’accent sur la réalisation de films en prise avec le monde actuel. Les étudiant·e·x·s apprennent à maîtriser les techniques de prise de vue, de son, de montage, et de postproduction. Par ailleurs, les étudiant·e·x·s cultivent leur regard, leur esprit critique et leur capacité d’expression à travers des cours théoriques.

La première année comprend des pratiques du son et de l’image, de l’archive et de la lumière (extérieur et studio). Les enseignements en ateliers initient les étudiant·e·x·s à la création cinématographique grâce aux apports de réalisateur·trice·x·s et de technicien·ne·x·s de renommée internationale.

À partir de la deuxième année, les étudiant·e·x·s choisissent entre les options Réalisation, Montage ou Son. Cette année permet d’approfondir les apprentissages techniques et mener à bout deux films : l’un de fiction sur des lieux de proximité, l’autre au cours d’un Grand Atelier qui propose la découverte d’un nouveau territoire, accompagné par un·e·x cinéaste local·e·x de renom.

La troisième année est consacrée à la réalisation du projet de diplôme, qui comprend un film et un essai théorique. La collaboration entre les étudiant·e·x·s des trois options se poursuit par la formation d’équipes de tournage, montage et postproduction. En parallèle, les étudiant·e·x·s préparent un dossier de leurs réalisations afin de se projeter dans le milieu professionnel.

Option Réalisation

Les étudiant·e·x·s qui choisissent l’option Réalisation en deuxième année approfondissent leurs connaissances techniques (maniement de caméras complexes, prise de son multicanal) tout en se formant à la maîtrise du processus de création complet. En collaboration avec leurs collègues de l’option Montage et Son, ils et elles réalisent deux films principaux: l’un axé sur la fiction et l’autre sur le documentaire. En troisième année, le film de diplôme Bachelor mobilise l’étudiant·e·x et concentre les apprentissages qui ont lieu sous forme de tutorats personnalisés et de séminaires thématiques. Les étudiant·e·x·s de l’option Réalisation travaillent en collaboration avec celles et ceux de l’option Montage et Son lors de la réalisation du film de diplôme. Des cours dans les domaines de la production, de la distribution, de la sélection et des festivals font également partie du programme.

Tournage du film Beneath The Shell de Mégane Brulhart (2020)

Option Montage

À partir de la deuxième année, l’étudiant·e·x qui choisit l’option Montage assemble et désassemble des films, afin de maîtriser les logiciels professionnels (Avid, Pro Tools). L’étudiant·e·x s’exerce en assurant les montages des principaux films de ses collègues de l’option Réalisation et aborde en particulier les enjeux du montage son. En troisième année, les étudiant·e·x·s envisagent l’activité de montage comme création à part entière; ils et elles approfondissent leurs connaissances en explorant des narrations différentes et en s’exerçant à des montages plus variés. Par ailleurs, les étudiant·e·x·s ont l’opportunité d’apprivoiser des logiciels de trucage et de graphisme. Lors du projet de diplôme, c’est en équipe avec un·e·x étudiant·e·x de l’option Réalisation que chacun·e·x pourra démontrer ses capacités à parachever le travail à travers le montage.

Tournage du film Supreme de Youssef Youssef (2020)

Option Son

Dès la deuxième année, l’étudiant·e·x qui choisit l’option Son bénéficie d’un enseignement de prise de son avancé (micros, enregistreurs, perche, écoute critique), tout en travaillant sur des ateliers conceptuels (constructions, univers sonores stratifiés, interactions son direct/ambiances/musiques) et en approfondissant la maîtrise de logiciels professionnels (Pro Tools). En troisième année, les étudiant·e·x·s envisagent le son comme un véritable outil de réflexion et de création. Afin d’approfondir leurs connaissances pratiques du son, un stage en milieu professionnel (sur un tournage ou à la télévision) ou un projet personnel font partie intégrante de la formation. Lors du projet de diplôme, les étudiant·e·x·s de l’option Son travaillent sur les films de leurs collègues de l’option Réalisation, en collaboration avec celles et ceux de l’option Montage, afin de définir la méthode et la stratégie sonore propre au film, de réaliser la prise de son lors du tournage, de collaborer sur le montage son et d’en assurer le mixage.

Tournage du film Imfura de Samuel Ishimwe (2017)

Équipe

Responsables
  • Nicolas Wadimoff
  • Delphine Jeanneret
Equipe enseignante
  • Clara Alloing
  • Bertrand Bacqué
  • Basil Da Cunha
  • Maryam Goormaghtigh
  • Blaise Harrison
  • Danielle Lessovitz
  • Elena Lopez Riera
  • Marie Losier
  • Daniel Schweizer
  • Olivier Zuchuat
Coordination et communication

Aurélien Haslebacher

Assistant·e·s
  • Sarah Imsand
  • Alice Riva
  • Julie Sando
Technique et post-production
  • Lorin Wüscher
  • Mathis Damour
Magasin matériel

Cathy Lopez

Intervenant·e·x·s

Kamal Aljafari, Raed Andoni, Claire Atherton, Marine Atlan, Antoine Barraud, Yaël Bitton, Iris Brey, Patric Chiha, Philippe Ciompi, Arnaud Dezoteux, Christine Dory, Farah Clémentine Dramani Issifiou, Hassen Ferahni, Alain Gomis, Elie Grappe, Christine Hoffet, Carlos Ibañez-Diaz, Philippe Lacôte, Oliver Laxe, Raphaël Lefèvre, Colin Levêque, Mariano Llinas, Elina Löwensohn, Eleonore Mallo, Bertrand Mandico, Emmanuel Marre, Claire Mathon, Elene Naveriani, Catherine Paillet, Caroline Poggi, Isabelle Proust, Carlos Reygadas, Antoine Russbach, Patrick Tresch, Ael Dallier Vega, Jonathan Vinel, François Wolf, Rui Xavier